Profile photo of a State Farm Agent named: Thomas Murphy

State Farm® Insurance Agent

Thomas Murphy

4.5 out of 5 (28 reviews)

Leave Us a Review

Our customers are the center of our universe and we’re grateful for them. If you’re willing to share your experience about your interaction with our agency, it’ll be a great help for other people looking to make smart and confident decisions about their insurance and financial services.


Take 60 seconds (or more if you want) to share your story by clicking on one of the review links below.

What our customers say about us...

Profile photo of John Rumbold

John Rumbold

September 21, 2022

5  out of  5
"Awesome Insurance Agent! I've been with them almost 20 years."
Profile photo of Gabe Maxwell

Gabe Maxwell

September 16, 2022

3  out of  5
"Had my State Farm insurance moved from an old, loved and trusted agent from another state to Thomas Murphy when we moved to NC. In the year and a half that I was with this agency, I would have to call or email multiple times to get communication back from the agent assigned to me throughout the whole time I was with them. Once I moved out of Wilmington and into Leland, I decided it was time to change agents and put in a request with State Farm to have agents moved. Thomas Murphy himself called me up to talk to me before allowing the transfer (in essence, gatekeeping the transfer before I would talk to him). He asked me if there was anything they could have done differently, and I told him the exact same statement above. He then proceeded to argue with me for almost five minutes about how I was wrong, and how difficult out-of-state conversions are, and how everybody now has to wait for everything longer since covid, etc. etc. etc. Five minutes this went on. No Thomas Murphy, everybody does not have to call and leave message after message with their mechanic to get any service. And if they do, they should be changing mechanics. A bit unprofessional to argue about the feedback you asked for. 3 stars because State Farm is awesome. But I would avoid this agency if I could do it over again."
Profile photo of Patti Rose

Patti Rose

August 18, 2022

5  out of  5
"I appreciate the fast response time whenever I call this State Farm office. I recently was the victim of a hit&run parking lot fender bender. I called the office, and pulled up to the door, and a friendly agent named Jake came outside to look at the damage and advise me of the next steps I should take, then- he made a follow-up call. Great service!"
Profile photo of Drews Quick Fixes Ideas And Hacks

Drews Quick Fixes Ideas And Hacks

March 18, 2022

1  out of  5
"Thomas is aTerrible agency does not represent state farm well .... failed to notify me of my car insurance lapse while I was out of town several years ago. They called 4pm they day it expired. I has my plate revoked and humdreds in state fines . Thomas .said.its .not. his responsibility to notify. Customers except.thorough mail . I should have sued .for all the fees .I .was charged. My new agency emails me.calls .me .and. has auto .renewal. Thomas. Is not a.good neighbor I don't. Recommend this state farm agent."
Profile photo of john “Jack” stanton

john “Jack” stanton

December 11, 2021

5  out of  5
"They have been one of my ins companies for years. Always helpful and knowledgable. Great people and service."
Profile photo of Barry Jones

Barry Jones

May 25, 2021

5  out of  5
"I just had my first experience using the State Farm towing feature and I was quite impressed with how smooth it went. You do have to hit 0 right off to skip the AI, but I was immediately picked up by a human being who competently got my information entered and set me up to get my car towed to the shop."
Profile photo of Gheorghe Dumitrascu

Gheorghe Dumitrascu

April 15, 2021

5  out of  5
"Great friendly place. Feels like home every time I walk in. Professional and generous personal!! Great insurance rates and easy to work with."
Profile photo of tiffany s evans

tiffany s evans

February 6, 2021

5  out of  5
"Excellent customer service. I can not recommend College enough."
Profile photo of Shannon Wayne

Shannon Wayne

October 6, 2020

5  out of  5
"I have been with State Farm for 6 years, I would not change my insurance company for anything in this world. Amanda is always so helpful, she makes me feel like no question is a stupid question. She is quick to respond and very friendly. I love working with Amanda for our home insurance."
Profile photo of Mike Fluhr

Mike Fluhr

October 3, 2020

5  out of  5
"Have worked with Thomas and his staff for few years. Always responsive, looks out for his clients Thanks Thomas"
Profile photo of Evan Wells

Evan Wells

September 4, 2020

5  out of  5
"Madison was great. She is knowledgeable, easy to talk to and great at her job. 5 stars Madison! Will refer my friends and family to her"
Profile photo of TV BRILHO

TV BRILHO

August 20, 2020

5  out of  5
"I reached out to State Farm in Wilmington NC, office of Thomas W Murphy to get a quote for my Motorhome. At that point I was shopping only. I had called 3 other insurances already. I spoke with Colleen Hayes who provided me with an outstanding customer service. Let me explain: I told her I had GEICO coverage, and that I wasn’t happy with it. She was very Professional, never pushed to get the sales, listened to what I had to say, was emphatic with my frustration, explained in details about State Farm coverage and sent me a written quote to my email. Just by the way she handle my request, providing me with detailed information’s, I already knew I wanted to do business with her and her office. Immediately after getting the quote by email, I called her back, but it was now after hours they close at 5pm. I left message, and guess what? She called me back immediatelly. And we close the deal. Which agent going to call you back after hours? Colleene Hayes will! This doesn’t stop there. As new RVs Motorhome owners, we are in the learning process of everything. My husband forgot the head lights on and next day we had no juice to crank the batteries. I called Colleene to ask more details how the road side assistance worked while we were in process of establishing the policy. My options was to get help, pay for it and get reimbursed by State Farm. After the policy is established I will have full coverage. At that point I told Colleen I would try to jump start myself. For my surprise she called me back for follow up to see if she could submit any reimbursement in my behalf. Since my mechanic came and jumpstarted it and there was no charge, I didn’t need to submit any request for money back. Bottom line State Farm ROCKS! Colleene Hayes 5 BRIGHT STARS! Thank you! Fatima Charlton"
Profile photo of Baylee Smith

Baylee Smith

August 10, 2020

5  out of  5
"I have one word. Madison. After moving to Wilmington a friend of mine gave me her card and told me “she will go above and beyond, call her” after a stressful move and we’re new parents- thats what I needed. I’ve never felt so at ease speaking to someone about something so serious as insurance, and life insurance. She is quick, professional and just a total sweet heart. She got back to me quick and any questions we had she answered. Due to covid we’ve been at a stand still but will be moving over to State Farm soon because of her and the experience she gave us. Not to mention she followed up with us after the hurricane to see how we were.. and we aren’t even customers yet. You get people who care, not robots. Go to Thomas Murphy State Farm and ask for Madison!"
Profile photo of Eric Sears

Eric Sears

July 19, 2020

5  out of  5
"Thomas and his staff are fantastic. They made things very easy, after hurricane Florence"
Profile photo of William Evans

William Evans

July 14, 2020

5  out of  5
"Been a customer for many years. Always there when I call."
Profile photo of Joey Clevenstine

Joey Clevenstine

June 8, 2020

5  out of  5
"I needed help getting a policy that I had trouble getting in North Carolina. Madison helped me find what I needed and took the stress away. She was very professional friendly and I recommend her to anyone."
Profile photo of Lisa Miskech

Lisa Miskech

March 15, 2020

5  out of  5
"Coleen really helped figure out a loan, And Thomas refunded fees, when it was really a bank issue. Thank you all."
Profile photo of Kirby L Clark

Kirby L Clark

February 22, 2020

5  out of  5
"Great"
Profile photo of Jason Chamberlain

Jason Chamberlain

November 10, 2019

5  out of  5
"Best people service"
Profile photo of jess ica

jess ica

October 8, 2019

5  out of  5
"Stopped in to get a quote here after Allstate gave me an insane out of this world stupid quote. I have a special set of circumstances that Devon was able to figure out and take care of! Extremely competent and easy to deal with. You’re in great hands here. Thanks so much! Five stars."
Profile photo of Micheal Lofton

Micheal Lofton

May 13, 2019

5  out of  5
"Geart people I always have a good experience when go in."
Profile photo of k steeber

k steeber

August 17, 2015

1  out of  5
"If you're cool with getting raped, go through these guys. They're great for that. I was paying high rates to have my car insured for an agreed value. When the car was in an accident they told me they would only give me a quarter of the agreed value, and that my policy premium was actually supposed to be half what i was paying. Went through 6 months of hell between apraisers and dealing with insurance to still only get a third of the agreed value. Class act these guys."
Profile photo of Daniel Diaz

Daniel Diaz

February 12, 2013

4  out of  5
"Great place, great service. Ask for Patrick."